Helloooo everyone!

So I’ve been AWOL for a couple of weeks – sorry about that. I’ve actually been at home in Dublin, with a few days in the Wild West (of Cork) as well, to touch base with all my favourite people and enjoy some quality Quiet Time wearing fisherman’s jumpers and wellington boots. Initially I had only booked to go for the weekend, but having realised the difficulty of fitting everyone in to two days and the cheapness of the flights, I decided to extend the trip to a week so that I could make sure to do all my favourite Homely Things.

beoreblog
Here I am looking cheery at 9am before my flight. Luckily there is no ‘after’ picture

I won’t document everything I got up to because it mostly involves driving around the West Cork countryside in the rain and café-hopping in search of Americanos to soothe the soul, and frankly it’d bore your socks off. But I’ll pop some of the pictures I took up anyway because it makes me happy to look at them and remember how pretty my Irish homes are.

dub1
South Anne’s Street

dub6

dub3
Ranelagh Village, where I lived for summer

dub4

dub5
I’m a sucker for (good) graffiti
cin2
This is Cinnamon, my favourite lunch spot in Ranelagh, complete with Happy Unassuming Man on the right
Lulu1
Lulu, whose outfit inadvertently matches the decor

yog2

On the Saturday just after I arrived in rainy Dublin, Jack took me, Thomas and my two-year-old rescue-Staffie, Kuma (who lives at Kenilworth with my Dublin roommates) to the Glendalough mountain range and lakes in Wicklow, about 40 minutes from the city. Despite the blustering wind and Kuma’s perpetual lack in ball-fetching skills we had a super, head-clearing day out (with a stop-off to Avoca Handweavers on the way home as a reward). I’d kind of been missing the countryside. Obviously here we have the Danube river running through the city and the mountains surrounding us, but nothing beats a trek in the Irish Wilds, complete with mud-splattered feet and a distinct rosy-cheekedness as a result of ignoring the elements and trudging doggedly along, chatting through chattering teeth.

Kuma1
Cian and I adopted Kuma from the pound in 2014
glen1
You literally have to prise the ball from his teeth following the ‘fetch’

Glen2

 

glen6

And now, back in Vienna (where it HAS been snowing and I HAVE missed it) I’m feeling refreshed and relaxed and not-exactly-ready for the impending exam madness that comes along in December, like Christmas’s nasty sister.

Anyway, there’s plenty to keep me merry in spite of that – it’s Christmas Market Time, and the entire city is illuminated with the twinkling of fairylights as far as the eye can see. Keep a lookout for all the Christmas delights to come 🙂

‘Til then, lots of snowy love,

 

K. x

 

 

